Mental Illness Steals My Weekend


As I browse through the streams of Twitter, my feed on Facebook and posts on Instagram, I see the ever present enthusiasm for the weekend every single Friday. Quotes like “TGIF” and “It’s Friyay!” are prolific. But instead of joining in the joy, something in my soul sinks as the weekend approaches each and every week.

I used to join the masses in the anticipation of a weekend where the family gathers and activities we are unable to do during the week become possibilities. Movie nights, quality time with the kids and my husband, church…all used to be a part of the little joys I used to look forward to. But something has changed and I don’t like it. In fact, I very very much don’t like it.

Depression and anxiety can be very selfish. They have taken things from me. They have taken my sense of peace, confidence and ability to enjoy my family.

When the weekend comes I am filled with anxiety over what is expected of me, albeit these are normal things, they invoke a new kind of stress. I feel mixed emotions at the thought of watching a movie with the family as a racing heart and chest pain has become customary during this time. I fret and worry about attending church as I am required to be present and seen by people that know me…people who can see all the weight I’ve gained in recent months and people who care for me, yet because of the fact that they have eyes and know me, they feel foreign and intimidating. I panic at the thought of the possibility of needing to care for my children on my own for any extended period of time if my husband has to work or coach a basketball game.

During the week, when the kids are off to school, I can make a trip to Target or Hobby Lobby without the dread of being seen. For some reason I get the feeling I’m just one of the masses and can blend in, almost invisible and shielded from the scrutiny I imagine in my head. But during the weekend, with kids in tow, I am visible and open for judgment, in my mind’s eye.

It’s a horrible feeling, dreading my weekends. There’s guilt and shame attached to it all, too. Thoughts like “Who in the heck doesn’t like the weekend? What kind of mother wouldn’t want more quality time with her kids? What kind of Christian dreads going to church?” plague me.

I look forward to the day, that must be coming, that I once again enjoy the weekend. It will be a good day, indeed.

*I’m entering this post in the #Iwouldlikeyouto linky hosted by And 1 More Makes 3. Muddle over and check it out!*

11 thoughts on “Mental Illness Steals My Weekend

  1. I’m so so sorry that you feel like that. Going through mental illness must be very hard and difficult to handle. I understand why you say that weekends are the worst and I actually can understand that as it is because you have to deal with your kids all day which makes things even more difficult. Hang on there. I will be thinking of you this weekend. Stay strong. Thanks so much lovely for sharing this personal thoughts at #KCACOLS. I would love to see you again on Sunday! 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You explain this so well. I’m sorry weekends are so difficult for you currently, mental illness can be very cruel. I hope that this aspect does improve so that you can enjoy this time with your family again. #KCACOLS

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow, I could have written this myself. I dread the weekends because that means I have to take care of my son for much longer than I do during the week. Not because I don’t absolutely adore him, but the anxiety creeps in and leaves me paralyzed. I hope you find your inner peace.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Your transparency is so powerful… truly! While I’m not a mother, I’ve certainly experienced pain with regard to depression. I speak from the other side, and am grateful you have a relationship with the Lord. Trust me… there IS “the other side.” Blessings to you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

